Different captains, major recalls as New Zealand names ODI squads for Pakistan and India tours

Different captains, major recalls as New Zealand names ODI squads for Pakistan and India tours

New Zealand have named ODI teams for the Pakistan and India tours with two different captains named to lead the team in the two different rounds.

Kane Williamson will lead the New Zealand squad for the ODIs in Pakistan while Tom Latham will take charge of the Indian series with the former rested.

Leg spinner Ish Sodhi and mid-order hitter Henry Nicholls have been recalled to the named ODI squad for both tours with a first call-up for all-roudner Henry Shipley.

Former Black Caps player Luke Ronchi will be the head coach for the ODI three-game series against India in January, with Gary Stead and Shane Jurgensen returning after the Pakistan series.

Shipley, the 26-year-old all-rounder is a big, fast right arm and middle order batsman and has been in impressive form in National cricket.

“Henry is an exciting talent that we have been watching for some time,” New Zealand manager Gavin Larsen said.

“He has taken his game to another level over the past 12 months, and we are delighted to see his progress given the value of true all-rounders in any cricketing team.”

“It’s encouraging to see players raise their hands in our domestic competitions and their performances rewarded with selection for the national team.”

Both subcontinent series will be crucial for New Zealand as they prepare for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in India next year.

“It’s a great opportunity to face two quality white ball teams in sub-continental conditions,” Larsen said.

“It will be tough cricket against world class opposition which should be a real test of a player’s skill and temperament.

“With the One Day World Cup less than a year away in India, it’s the perfect time to play against these teams at home as we look to define our game plans and understand the different situations and conditions. that we can meet.”

New Zealand ODI teams for the series against Pakistan and India

Kane Williamson (c) (Pakistani ODI only), Tom Latham (captain – India ODI), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (Indian ODIs only), Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy (India ODI only), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Pakistani ODI only).

–More soon–

#captains #major #recalls #Zealand #names #ODI #squads #Pakistan #India #tours

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.