Saracens forward Hugh Tizard

England: Hugh Tizard retained with Jack Willis dismissed by Eddie Jones

England head coach Eddie Jones has reduced his squad to 26 players as they prepare for their Autumn Nations Series game against South Africa.

Joe Heyes, Sean Robinson, Jack Singleton, Jack Willis (unattached), Joe Cokanasiga, George Furbank, Will Joseph, Alex Mitchell, Cadan Murley and Adam Radwan have been released to their respective clubs, Rugby has confirmed Football Union.

This means Jones opted to keep Matchday 23 which was a draw with New Zealand plus Bevan Rodd, Hugh Tizard and Tommy Freeman in that group.

England keen to build on All Blacks superb finish

England come into conflict with South Africa on the back of this thriller from behind with the All Blacks as the Boks hammered Italy 63-21.

It will be interesting to see what changes Jones makes to his starting XV, with Mako Vunipola, Will Stuart, David Ribbans and Ben Youngs all impressing on the bench last weekend while Jack van Poortvliet in particular had a difficult afternoon.

Elsewhere, Manu Tuilagi now looks set to clinch his 50th cap but it remains to be seen whether it will be outright or via the bench, with England careful not to wear down any of their star players. If he was on the bench, Guy Porter would probably come in.

There is also debate over whether Maro Itoje will return to the back row against the bigger Boks this weekend after starting at the lock against New Zealand.

“We probably need three jumpers against South Africa. It’s going to be a higher kicking game, so we’ll take a look at that,” Jones said over the weekend.

Evan Roos starts at number eight for the Springboks

England face a South African side which includes Evan Roos at number eight after the Springboks named their squad for the Autumn Nations Series final.

There are eight changes and two positional adjustments made by head coach Jacques Nienaber as South Africa mix up their game for this tantalizing clash.

Six of those changes come in the starting XV as Jesse Kriel (centre), Makazole Mapimpi (winger), Roos (number eight) and Eben Etzebeth (lock) come into play.

The other two changes to the side are positional as Damian de Allende moves inside the center alongside Kriel while Kurt-Lee Arendse is on the right wing.

These two sides last met in November 2021 when England avenged their defeat in the 2019 Rugby World Cup final by winning 27-26 at Twickenham.

England’s 26-man squad ahead of the game against South Africa

Forwards: Alex Coles, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Tom Curry, Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Jonny Hill, Maro Itoje, David Ribbans, Bevan Rodd, Sam Simmonds, Kyle Sinckler, Will Stuart, Hugh Tizard, Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola

Back : Owen Farrell, Tommy Freeman, Jonny May, Jack Nowell, Guy Porter, Henry Slade, Marcus Smith, Freddie Steward, Manu Tuilagi, Jack van Poortvliet, Ben Youngs

READ MORE: Springboks: Evan Roos named number eight for blockbuster game against England

#England #Hugh #Tizard #retained #Jack #Willis #dismissed #Eddie #Jones

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.