Hazlewood and Moeen enter as captains, Cummins and Buttler rested

Hazlewood and Moeen enter as captains, Cummins and Buttler rested

Australia decided to fight against England

There were two new captains in the draw for the second ODI in Sydney as Josh Hazlewood led Australia for the first time with Pat Cummins rested and Moeen Ali taking charge of England with Jos Buttler having the game.

Hazlewood, who was rested for the series opener, became Australia’s 28th men’s ODI captain just one game after Cummins became 27th when he made a series-winning start in Adelaide. Cummins has been sidelined as part of his test preparations and is expected to return to Melbourne. Allrounder Cameron Green was also released and returned to Perth ahead of the West Indies Test series with Josh Inglis added to the squad.

A rotation of the captaincy had been reported when Cummins was appointed to the role and during the draw Hazlewood spoke of a “wider leadership group” who were able to step in when needed. There was no official vice-captain named prior to the series. He was handed the role ahead of Alex Carey, who captained the ODI side against the West Indies when Aaron Finch was injured last year, and Tests vice-captain Steven Smith.

It is also the first time Moeen has captained England in an ODI having previously done the job in T20s. They also made a number of changes with the return of Sam Curran, Chris Woakes and Adil Rashid. Chris Jordan, Luke Wood and Olly Stone are seated.

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Travis Head, 3 Steve Smith, 4 Marnus Labuschagne, 5 Alex Carey (wk), 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Marcus Stoinis, 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlwood (capt)

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Phil Salt, 3 Dawid Malan, 4 James Vince, 5 Sam Billings (wk), 6 Moeen Ali (capt), 7 Chris Woakes, 8 Sam Curran, 9 Liam Dawson, 10 David Willey, 11 Adil Rashid

#Hazlewood #Moeen #enter #captains #Cummins #Buttler #rested

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.