Australia win in throw and bowl as big guns return to lead offense

Australia win in throw and bowl as big guns return to lead offense

Australia won the toss and elected to play first against England

Australia won the coin toss and opted to bowl as they aim to level the series against England in the second T20I in Canberra on Wednesday.

As he did in his team’s eight-point defeat in the opener in Perth, the captain Aaron Finch decided to field but hopes its returning star bowlers can restrain an in-form England batting order which compiled a record 208 for 6 in the opener – the highest T20I tally by a foreign team in Australia.

Steve Smith, who was dropped for the series opener, has been left out again, while Finch will return to his usual role as opener after a move to No. 4.

England kept the same batting order, with Alex Hales looking to secure a top spot after his destructive 84 at the Optus Stadium. Fast Chris Jordan and David Willey return from injury and replace Chris Woakes and Mark Wood, who played Perth with 3 for 34 scored by fast pace.

The second and third matches will be played at Manuka Oval in the Australian capital.

Australia: 1 Aaron Finch (captain), 2 David Warner, 3 Mitchell Marsh, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Marcus Stoinis, 6 Tim David, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Pat Cummins, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlewood

England: 1 Jos Buttler (captain and week), 2 Alex Hales, 3 Dawid Malan, 4 Ben Stokes, 5 Harry Brook, 6 Moeen Ali, 7 Sam Curran, 8 Chris Jordan, 9 David Willey, 10 Adil Rashid, 11 Reece Topley

#Australia #win #throw #bowl #big #guns #return #lead #offense

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.